MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, June 19th 2024 - 10:11 UTC



Gibraltar votes for change; after almost 16 years opposition takes over

Saturday, December 10th 2011 - 00:43 UTC
Full article
Fabian Picardo, the new Chief Minister: “a new dawn has broken”

Fabian Picardo, the new Chief Minister: “a new dawn has broken”

In a very close result the Gibraltar Socialist Labour Party (GSLP) Liberal Alliance were elected on Thursday into government with Fabian Picardo topping the poll.

The Gibraltar Social Democrats (GSD) who were looking for a fifth term of office failed to win by 300 votes after the count, with swings both ways during the night, but in the end Yvette del Agua, Joe Holliday and Lianne Azzopardi from the GSD were not elected

The Gibraltar Broadcasting Corporation exit poll had predicted an 8% win for the Alliance. The final result was Alliance 48.88%, GSD 46.76% and PDP 4.36%. The GSLP/Libs takes 10 of the Parliament’s 17 seats

Dr John Cortes, GSLP, got second highest vote. Joe Bossano came fifth and Peter Caruana seventh. Daniel Feetham has second highest GSD vote.

The polls opened at 09.00 and closed at 22.00 - in that time 17,917 electors cast their votes representing 82.52% of the electorate making this the third-highest turnout since 1980.

GSLP Leader Fabian Picardo gave an acceptance speech thanking his party and the people of Gibraltar for electing him.
Picardo who became leader of his party barely six months ago, declared it was “a privilege to lead this nation of ours” and held his political triumph as the dawning of a new era for Gibraltar.
“A new dawn has broken,” he said to loud cheers from his supporters. Recalling the years in opposition of the GSLP, almost 16, the new Chief Minister celebrated that the people of Gibraltar had now finally given them the opportunity to put their policies into action.

By Jim Watt -


Categories: Politics, International.

Top Comments

Disclaimer & comment rules

Commenting for this story is now closed.
If you have a Facebook account, become a fan and comment on our Facebook Page!