MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, August 7th 2022 - 22:12 UTC



Iraq furious with the Trump ban: Bagdad recalls that they are in the front line combating the IS

Monday, January 30th 2017 - 10:00 UTC
Full article 3 comments

Iraq will lobby against new travel limits to the United States by Iraqis, arguing both countries need to uphold their fight against Islamic State (IS), Iraqi parliamentarians said on Sunday. The Iraqi government has so far declined comment on an executive order signed by new U.S. President Donald Trump on Friday that suspends the entry of travelers from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for at least 90 days. Read full article


Disclaimer & comment rules
  • Briton

    very quiet on these 3 blogs, so I picked this one.[ hence ]

    I had to see for myself, so I read the executive order
    . The order does seek “to protect the American people from terrorist attacks by foreign nationals admitted to the United States.” It says that it seeks “Suspension of Issuance of Visas and Other Immigration Benefits to Nationals of Countries of Particular Concern.” It also says “I hereby proclaim that the immigrant and non-immigrant entry into the United States of aliens from countries referred to in section 217(a)(12) of the INA, 8 U.S.C. 1187(a)(12), would be detrimental to the interests of the United States, and I hereby suspend entry into the United States, as immigrants and non-immigrants, of such persons for 90 days from the date of this order.” And it targets Syrians specifically. “I hereby proclaim that the entry of nationals of Syria as refugees is detrimental to the interests of the United States and thus suspend any such entry until such time as I have determined that sufficient changes have been made to the USRAP to ensure that admission of Syrian refugees is consistent with the national interest.”

    But, wait a sec. I read the order and Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen are not mentioned in it.

    Go back and read it again. Do a “ctrl-f” to find “Iraq”. Where is “Iraq” in the order. It’s not there. Only Syria is there. So where are the seven nations? Where is the “Muslim ban”? It turns out this was a form of fake news, or alternative facts. Trump didn’t select seven “Muslim-majority” countries. US President Barack Obama’s administration selected these seven Muslim-majority countries.

    just saying like

    Jan 30th, 2017 - 02:44 pm - Link - Report abuse -1
  • Think

    Ohhh..., Briton..., you sweet simpleton Turnip...
    Stealing from the Internet to seem smart...!
    Who do you Think you are fooling...?

    You say (well..., actually Seth Franzman says)...:
    “But, wait a sec. I read the order and Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen are not mentioned in it. ” Etc..., etc..., etc...

    I say...:
    You (well..., actually Seth Franzman) better “Go back and read it again”...:
    “For the next 90 days, nearly all travelers, except U.S. citizens, traveling on passports from Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya, and Yemen will be temporarily suspended from entry to the United States.”

    Try for once to Think for yoursef..., Briton
    It doesn't hurt...

    Jan 30th, 2017 - 03:17 pm - Link - Report abuse +1
  • Briton

    Change the subject.

    Feb 01st, 2017 - 01:29 pm - Link - Report abuse -1

Commenting for this story is now closed.
If you have a Facebook account, become a fan and comment on our Facebook Page!