MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, April 18th 2019 - 14:37 UTC

Free transit among Mercosur countries without passport

Monday, June 30th 2008 - 21:00 UTC
Full article

Associate member countries of the Common Market of the South (Mercosur) are to be granted free transit of citizens within the bloc, a right currently limited to full members, the Brazilian Foreign Ministry announced Wednesday.

Mercosur, comprising Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay as full members, has six associate member countries, namely Bolivia, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela. The agreement on associate member countries' free transit right will be reviewed by the Mercosur council and the result is expected to be officially announced on July 1, at the 35th Summit of Mercosur and its Associates in the city of San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina. If ratified, ID card is what all citizens need to present when traveling within the bloc. The same system is currently used for citizens of Mercosur full member countries. According to Brazilian officials, the new agreement also requires the approval of the national congress of each member country.

Categories: Politics, Mercosur.

Top Comments

Disclaimer & comment rules

Commenting for this story is now closed.
If you have a Facebook account, become a fan and comment on our Facebook Page!