MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, February 9th 2023 - 05:57 UTC



Sweeping changes in Falkland Islands general election

Friday, November 6th 2009 - 13:12 UTC
Full article 102 comments
Dick Sawle received an impressive 770 votes Dick Sawle received an impressive 770 votes

The Falkland Islands electorate wanted change, and effectively returned eight new names for the Legislative Assembly on Thursday’s General Election.

Not one of the previous Legislative Assembly members managed to retain the bench either in the capital Stanley or in the Camp, according to the final vote count released at mid night.

The closest was Mike Summers who fell short of 50 votes to Jan Cheek’s 452 votes who thus will be representing Stanley next to Dick Sawle (770), Gavin Short (590), Glenn Ross (491) and Emma Edwards (474).

Retired businessman Dick Sawle and former leader of the General Employees Union Gavin Short marked impressive personal victories given the unprecedented support received.

In the Camp, change was also the message: the three seats went to former Councillors who had retired from politics, Roger Edwards (148); Sharon Halford (147) and Bill Luxton (147). Ian Hansen from the outgoing Legislative Assembly garnered 93 votes.

Categories: Politics, Falkland Islands.

Top Comments

Disclaimer & comment rules
  • welkin

    Punishment vote in Malvinas.

    Is this a light of hope for freedom and friendship??

    Nov 06th, 2009 - 09:14 pm 0
  • j

    With the such bill luxton they are back several decades. Even worse than mike summers. I don't know what the others think.

    Nov 06th, 2009 - 09:22 pm 0
  • jorge

    It was me above.

    Nov 06th, 2009 - 09:23 pm 0
Read all comments

Commenting for this story is now closed.
If you have a Facebook account, become a fan and comment on our Facebook Page!