MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, December 8th 2022 - 09:26 UTC



Ecuador's Lasso Mendoza elected chair of the 2014 Decolonization Committee

Wednesday, March 12th 2014 - 07:49 UTC
Full article 22 comments
Ecuador' Xavier Lasso Mendoza Ecuador' Xavier Lasso Mendoza

Ecuador' Xavier Lasso Mendoza was elected by 'acclamation' as Chair of the 2014 session of the Special Committee on Decolonization together with Rodolfo Reyes Rodríguez (Cuba), Vandi Chidi Minah (Sierra Leone) and Desra Percaya (Indonesia), as Vice-Chairs, and Bashar Ja’afari (Syria), as Rapporteur, according to the UN release.

 The Committee, formally the Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples, voted to hold its 2014 Pacific Regional Seminar in Fiji from 21 to 23 May, and to undertake a visiting mission to New Caledonia. The team would include the member delegations of Ecuador, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea and Sierra Leone, with one electoral expert and three Secretariat staff to support it. The dates of the mission would be announced.

The Special Committee also approved its proposed organization of work for 2014 (document A/AC.109/2014/L.2), and it invited Argentina, Costa Rica, Ghana, Guatemala, Italy, Jamaica, Montenegro, Panama, Solomon Islands, Spain, Suriname, Turkey, Uganda and Uruguay to participate in the session as observers.

The following delegations are Committee members: Antigua & Barbuda; Bolivia; Chile; China; Congo; Côte d'Ivoire; Cuba; Dominica; Ecuador; Ethiopia; Fiji; Grenada; India; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Mali; Nicaragua; Papua New Guinea; Russian Federation; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Sierra Leone; Syria; Timor-Leste; Tunisia; United Republic of Tanzania; and Venezuela.

Remaining on the list of Non-Self-Governing Territories are the Falkland Islands (Malvinas)*, French Polynesia, Gibraltar, New Caledonia and Western Sahara, as well as American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Guam, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands and the United States Virgin Islands.

Top Comments

Disclaimer & comment rules
  • Monkeymagic

    A Latino in charge at the C24, backed up by another latino..and Sierra Leone, indonesia and Syria!!!!

    Poor Sierra Leone being lumbered with that lot.

    Surely Argentina should not be involved in approving the scope of work as it has a vested interest.

    Mar 12th, 2014 - 09:03 am 0
  • Boovis

    The headline should read “Hispanics in usurped land head decolonisation committee and fail to see massive irony”.

    Mar 12th, 2014 - 09:06 am 0
  • Conqueror

    Many things wrong at the C24. Here's the latest. This is the THIRD Ecuadorian in a row to hold the chair. Seems to me that if you want “fairness”, any member country of the committee waits for, say, five years before it gets another chance. And what is Syria doing there? It's in the process of REPRESSION!

    Mar 12th, 2014 - 09:56 am 0
Read all comments

Commenting for this story is now closed.
If you have a Facebook account, become a fan and comment on our Facebook Page!