MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, June 1st 2023 - 08:26 UTC

Tag: European Free Trade Association, EFTA,

  • Saturday, August 24th 2019 - 09:26 UTC

    Mercosur and EFTA countries reach a free trade agreement

    The agreement with EFTA, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, comes two months after Mercosur sealed a landmark trade deal with the European Union.

    South American trade block Mercosur reached a free trade agreement with four European countries, Argentine officials and Brazil's President Jair Bolsonaro said after talks in Buenos Aires.

  • Thursday, July 4th 2019 - 16:54 UTC

    Brazil anticipates more trade accords following on the Mercosur/EU deal

    Araujo said that the agreement EU/Mercosur signaled the start of an era of “Big Brazil” in which the country would be more open, prosperous and competitive.

    Brazil’s Foreign Minister Ernesto Araujo said on Wednesday that he expects two new trade deals to be signed between the trade bloc Mercosur and other regions in the second half of 2019, hailing a new era of openness in Brazil.

  • Monday, February 20th 2017 - 11:20 UTC

    EFTA/Mercosur talks confirmed to begin next June in Buenos Aires

    Bilateral trade between the two blocks reached 8.7bn in 2015, when first contacts were started. In Davos Economic Forum the round of discussions was first agreed.

    The first round of formal trade negotiations between Mercosur and EFTA, European Free Trade Association, is scheduled to take place in Buenos Aires next June according to information from Brussels where there was a preliminary encounter between the two sides. “It will be in June, and talks will be at chief negotiators level”, confirmed EFTA and Mercosur sources.

  • Friday, February 17th 2017 - 09:43 UTC

    Mercosur begins trade talks with EFTA

    EFTA members are very much interested in an agreement with Mercosur anticipated Rigoberto Gauto

    Mercosur officially begins this Friday trade negotiations with the European Free Trade Association, EFTA, which brings together those countries that do not belong to the European Union, EU, that is Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and that in a couple of years could see the UK, negotiating Brexit, joining.