MercoPress, en Español

Montevideo, June 10th 2023 - 10:44 UTC



FIFA's U20 World Cup in Argentina and a toponymy controversy over “Malvinas” stadium

Monday, April 24th 2023 - 11:03 UTC
Full article
The Malvinas stadium in Mendoza will be named simply Mendoza The Malvinas stadium in Mendoza will be named simply Mendoza

The FIFA Council has confirmed Argentina as the host of the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023. The decision follows the removal of the original tournament host, Indonesia, as well as a subsequent bid submitted by the Argentine Football Association (AFA) and an on-site inspection by a FIFA delegation to the South American country last week.

The delegation members visited the proposed tournament venues and associated infrastructure. The hosting agreement has been signed by the AFA, along with all other relevant documents on the part of the host and local authorities.

Following FIFA rules and protocol, accepted by Argentina, the stadiums involved will be identified by the names of their locations. This means that the Maradona stadium in Buenos Aires province will be named La Plata; Madre de Ciudades will become Santiago del Estero; Bicentenario de San Juan, San Juan and finally Malvinas stadium, Mendoza y honor of the Andean province.

Despite the toponymyc controversy, Argentine sports journalists recalled that back in 2001, the FIFA U20 Cup was also played in Argentina, with no problem with stadiums names. Besides football several international rugby competitions also took place.

The FIFA U-20 World Cup will take place from 20 May to 11 June 2023 and will feature six groups of four teams. Having been awarded the hosting rights to the tournament, Argentina will compete in the event in place of Indonesia. Argentina is the most successful nation in the history of the FIFA U-20 World Cup, having won the tournament six times, most recently in 2007. The country also hosted the competition in 2001.

“FIFA is delighted to announce that this year's edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup will take place in Argentina, as the home of the world champions opens its doors to the tomorrow’s superstars of world football,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino. “I would like to thank the AFA and particularly its President Claudio Tapia, as well as the governmental authorities, for their commitment to hosting this magnificent event at such short notice.

“The U-20 World Cup plays a key role in FIFA’s efforts to promote youth football across the world. Since 1977, this tournament has featured some of the greatest players of the past decades, including Diego Armando Maradona, Lionel Messi, Paul Pogba, Erling Haaland and many others. Having this year’s edition taking place in a country that lives and breathes football will be a tremendous inspiration for the stars of tomorrow.”

Following the confirmation of the new hosts, the Official Draw of the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023™ took place on Friday 21 April at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.

The Groups are as follows, Group A, Argentina, Uzbekistan, Guatemala y New Zealand. Group B, United States, Ecuador, Fiji and Slovakia. Group C, Senegal, Japan, Israel and Colombia. Group D, Italy, Brazil, Nigeria y Dominican Republic. Group E, Uruguay, Iraq, England and Tunisia. Group F, France, Korea, Gambia and Honduras.


Top Comments

Disclaimer & comment rules

Commenting for this story is now closed.
If you have a Facebook account, become a fan and comment on our Facebook Page!